3rd District Commissioners
The County of Santa Barbara encourages residents to participate in and serve on local regulatory and advisory boards. Hundreds of citizen volunteers constitute approximately 70 boards, commissions and committees. These deliberative bodies assist the County Board of Supervisors in the development of critical policies that impact our quality of life in a myriad of ways including health and human services, land use, parks, public facilities and public safety to name a few.  Below is a list of 3rd District board and commission appointees. If you're interested in learning more or serving on a board or commission, please visit the County Clerk of the Board's website.

Agricultural Advisory Committee

  • Sharyne Merritt

Air Pollution Control District Community Advisory Council

  • Dr. Ingeborg Cox
  • Janet Blevins

Arts Commission

  • Stacey Otte-Demangate
  • Kim Yasuda
  • Samuel Duarte

Assessment Appeals Board No. 1

  • Clare Macdonald

Assessment Appeals Board No. 2

  • Robert Coe

Behavioral Wellness Commission

  • Rev. Mary Moreno Richardson
  • Tom Franklin

Board of Architectural Review Central County (CBAR)

  • C. Puck Erickson-Lohnas
  • Bethany Clough
  • Greg Donovan
  • Robin Brady
  • Owen Wright
  • Lowell Lash – alternate
  • Alternate position VACANCY

Board of Architectural Review North County (NBAR)

  • Michael Maglinte

Board of Architectural Review South County (SBAR)

  • John Vritak
  • Douglas Keep

Civil Service Commission

  • Monica Steiner

Commission for Women

  • Marianne Partridge
  • Tracy Beard
  • Karen Steinwachs

County Riding and Hiking Trails Advisory Committee

  • David Hosking
  • Kristi Hundt
  • Curt Cragg
  • Michael Hecker

Fish and Wildlife Commission

  • Molly Morrison

Guadalupe Cemetery District Board of Trustees

  • Sal Reynoso
  • John Velasquez
  • Albert Nunez
  • Earleen Raguz
  • Andres Gutierrez

Historic Landmarks Advisory Commission

  • J. Lansing Duncan
  • Jessica Tade

Housing Authority Board of Commissioners


Human Services Commission

  • Ann Glasgow
  • Joan Fairfield

Library Advisory Committee

  • Judith Dale

Los Alamos Cemetery District Board of Directors

  • James Gill
  • Charles Gonzales
  • Peter Kopcrak

Los Alamos Planning Advisory Committee

  • Carole Bloom
  • Seth Steiner
  • Forest Starr
  • Susan deWit
  • Carolyn Morthole
  • Michael Fordyce
  • Christopher Wrather

Oak Hill Cemetery District Board of Directors

  • Richard Christensen
  • Allan Jones
  • Arthur Knight

Park Commission

  • Meighan Dietenhofer

Planning Commission

  • John Parke

Supervisor Hartmann's Appointments, Boards, and Commissions

In addition to her service as a Supervisor, Joan represents the 3rd District and the County of Santa Barbara on the following boards and commissions:

  • Santa Barbara County Association of Governments (SBCAG), Chair
    • SBCAG North County Subregional Planning Committee
    • SBCAG South County Subregional Planning Committee
    • SBCAG Coastal Rail Coordinating Council
    • SBCAG Executive Committee
  • CenCal Health Board
  • First 5 Commission
  • Law Library
  • K.I.D.S. Policy Network, Chair
  • Adult & Aging Network
  • Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) (alternate)
  • Community Action Commission (alternate)
  • Beach Erosion Authority for Clean Oceans and Nourishment (alternate)
  • Multi-Jurisdictional Solid Waste
  • Indian Gaming Local Community Benefit Committee