PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT - DEVELOPMENT REVIEW DIVISION

The Development Review Division reviews private development projects for consistency with State and local planning laws, ordinances, and the comprehensive plan policies. The division also performs environmental review pursuant to State and local CEQA guidelines for all applicable projects. 

This division has office locations in Santa Barbara and Santa Maria.


Click here to access the Development Codes. 


For information regarding the status of your current application, click here.


To locate digitized historic files for your property, click here.


Development Review Division projects, click here.


Staff Contact Information

Contact

Development Review Division  
   
Contact our Zoning Counter Phone Contact 
South County Counter (Santa Barbara office) (805) 568-2090
North County Counter (Santa Maria office) (805) 934-6251
   
Name  Email Contact 
Travis Seawards, Division Deputy Director tseawards@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
   
Counter Operations - North and South  
Name Email Contact 
Joe Dargel, Division Supervisor jdargel@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Alejandro Jimenez, Planner ajimenez@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Kimberley McCarthy, Planner  kheaton@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Mark Walter, Planner mwalter@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
   
Permitting - North  
Holly Owen, Division Supervisor
howen@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Erick Gomez, Plannerergomez@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Tina Mitchell, Planner  tmitchell@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Shannon Reese, Plannersreese@co.santa-barbara.ca.us   
Ben Singer, Plannerbsinger@co.santa-barbara.ca.us

Permitting - South  
Alex Tuttle, Division Supervisor atuttle@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Tess Harris, Division Supervisortharris@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Willow Brown, Plannerwbrown@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Kara Koenig, Plannerkkoenig@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Nicole Lieu, Planner nmashore@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Travis Lee, Planner  trlee@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Nereyda (Rey) Harmon, Planner  nharmon@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Ciara Ristig, Plannercristig@countyofsb.org 
Delaney Roney, Plannerdroney@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Sean Stewart, Plannersestewart@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
  
Permitting and Enforcement - Cannabis   
Petra Leyva, Division Supervisor petra@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Kathryn Lehr, Division Supervisorklehr@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Gwendolyn Beyeler, Plannergbeyeler@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Dara Elkurdi, Plannerdelkurdi@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Melanie Jackson, Planner mjackson@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Sarah Marshall, Plannersmarshall@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Analise Merlo, Planneranalise@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Stephen Peterson, Planner  speterson@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Alia Vosburg, Planneravosburg@co.santa-barbara.ca.us